Alex Harding & Lucian Ban





Alex Harding & Lucian Ban

  • $30 Assigned Rows 1-2
  • $20 Assigned Rows 3-5
  • $15 General Admission
  • $0 Student
  • Alex Harding, baritone saxophone
  • Lucian Ban, piano

Event Details

Detroit born baritone sax extraordinaire ALEX HARDING and Transylvanian expat pianist LUCIAN BAN have been collaborating for almost two decades, founding several groups together, releasing a handful of diverse albums for American and European labels, performing countless concerts and tours all the while documenting an amazing body of music.

“In near-telepathic collusion, Harding and Ban mean what they say." - Derek Taylor, ALL ABOUT JAZZ

The pair first release is Somethin’ Holy (2001, CIMP Records) a duet album with “an arresting immediacy” featuring original compositions and Ellington’s Fleurette Africaine showcasing the duo chemistry and musical concept. In reviewing the album for the print edition of AAJazz Terrell Holmes says: “Ban plays with a fluency and sensibility that recalls Vladimir Horowitz as much as McCoy Tyner while Harding can break your heart with enderness or shatter you with intensity.”

Alex Harding

Born in Detroit (baritone sax & bass clarinet) has worked and studied with Yusef Lateef at the University of Massachusetts in 1990, toured Europe performing "Porgy and Bess". Alex joined the Julius Hemphill Saxophone Sextet in 1993 then began working with people such as: Muhal Richard Abrams, Craig Harris, Lester Bowie, Clark Terry, Joe Bowie (Defunkt), Frank Lacy, Hamiet Bluiett, Oliver Lake, Greg Osby, David Murray (big band), Sun Ra Arkestra and the Queen of soul Aretha Franklin at the 2001 "Divas Live" at Radio City Music Hall in New York.

The critics have hailed him as “the new voice on baritone saxophone, the carrier of the great legacy of Harry Carney, Pepper Adams and Hamiet Bluiett”. Alex Harding has released several albums as a leader garnering glowing reviews and appeared as guest on more than 20 albums. 

Lucian Ban

Pianist Lucian Ban has "ricocheted among orthodox post bop, free jazz, and inspired hybrids—including his inventive arrangements of the music of Romanian composer George Enesco" on his all star octet album Enesco Reimagined (Sunnyside, 2009) co-lead with bassist John Hébert. In 201, Ban’s quartet Elevation released the "blustery Mystery (Sunnyside. Ban also has a duo with American violist Mat Maneri, Transylvanian Concert (ECM, 2013), Peter Margasak, Chicago Reader). He has recorded 10 albums as a leader for labels such as Sunnyside, ECM, Jazzaway, etc. His latest album “Songs from Afar” by ELEVATION released by Sunnyside Records Jan 2016 received the 5* review in DOWNBEAT Magazine.